Dorrigo, although a three-ways town is mostly not an encounted town. Dorrigo is more of a ‘go to’ and destination town. The Dangar Falls, Dorrigo National Park and to a point the town itself are the catalysts to visit.
Dorrigo is derived from the Aboriginal word, dondorrigo, meaning "stringy-bark". For many decades it was believed that explorer and settler Major Edward Parke named the region after a Spanish General named Don Dorrigo with whom Peake fought in the Peninsula War.
By 1841, timber cutters had entered the Bellinger River searching for red cedar. They set up
Dorrigo is home to the Dorrigo Steam Railway Museum. The Museum houses the largest collection of preserved railway vehicles and memorabilia from the various Government and private railways of New South Wales. It is one of the most comprehensive railway collections in the world, with items in the collection ranging from 1855 to the present day. The museum is not yet open to the public however the larger items such as steam engines and carriages can be viewed from outside the property. There is also the Heritage Museum and unofficial ‘worlds’ smallest motorcycle museum.
The Dangar Falls are located about 1.2 km north of Dorrigo, on the Bielsdown River. The falls are small but picturesque, and are a popular photographic subject. For a short time after rain they are quite spectacular.