Jamberoo is a quite isolated town, that when visited did not qualify for the Bustout synopsis. The visit was transitional and what was observed with the size of town and facilities that a museum and/or War Memorial, whilst not sighted was a probability.
Jamberoo is a small picturesque village approx. 11 km inland from Kiama on the South Coast the town's name is derived from an aboriginal word meaning 'track'.
European history in the valley began in the early 19th century when the cedar-cutters moved through the rainforests gathering this valuable timber. Pioneer settlers followed in the early 1820s
The Main South Coast Road formed the northern boundary of his village and at the western end of the town he gave out lots for Protestant Churches. The Presbyterian church of St Stephen stands on the original lot. The Methodist church around the corner in Walla St is now a church and still hosts services, while the land given to the Church of England is located north of Hamís Creek on Tate's Hill.
The first co-operative butter factory in Australia was begun at Jamberoo in 1884 adjacent to the old Main South Coast Road (now Jamberoo Rd), 2 km from the Princes Highway and just west of Spring Creek and the monument marking the old toll gate. The location is better described as Kiama. An obelisk marks the spot Jamberoo sits at the western end of Minnamurra Swamp, known locally as The Swamp.
The Minnamurra River flows from along the northern side of the swamp. Just east of the old butter factory on Factory Lane the river enters a man-made channel that keeps the river flowing on the northern side of the swamp; the original channel meandered through the broad eastern end of the swamp before crossing Swamp Road and running along the south side of the swamp. In times of high tide and high rainfall, the river resumes its old course closing Swamp Road.