Millthorpe is a surprise town. Delightful Historic and preserved. Allow plenty of time when visiting. Millthorpe is encounted when traveling the Orange to Blayney (or vice versa) road. Millthorpe has a sister heritage town also just 12 k’s on the other side of Blayney.
European settlement of the area began when a government stock station was established in 1823. The town is based upon a land grant originally known as 'Grove Farm' which was made out to convict overseer Charles Booth] in 1834. Noted explorer Thomas Mitchell twice stayed there during inland expeditions.
The town was once a major potato growing area and continues to have extensive agricultural activities. The town was originally called Spring Grove. A large flour mill was established in 1882. Consequently, in 1884 the town's name was changed from Spring Grove to Millthorpe. Today it is still essentially a service centre to the rich farmlands which surround it.
Millthorpe is a picturesque, compact and historic village set amidst gently rolling hills. Classified by the National Trust, it has a number of fine historic buildings, as well as cobbled, bluestone-bordered streets, art galleries, gift and antiques shops, a museum, two hotels, restaurants and cafes, a bowling club and motel. Two of the main streets, Victoria (which runs east-west) and Park (north-south), follow the contours of the local topography with a more regularised grid system extending outwards from them.
When visiting Millthorpe be sure to allow plenty of time for this gem.