New Norfolk is encounted when traveling from Hobart to the West Coast (or vice versa). New Norfolk is a pretty town that has rich history. A number of heritage buildings have survived to this day. Although quite close to Hobart New Norfolk has retained country town quaintness.
The townsite was first explored by Europeans in 1793 when Lieutenant John Hayes sailed up the Derwent River and, when the river became too shallow, proceeded to row to a point just upstream from the present site of New Norfolk, so named after Norfolk Island
Australia it is probably fitting that the country's oldest church also exists in New Norfolk. The Anglican Church of St Matthew in Bathurst Street opposite the delightful Arthur Square was built in 1823.
The Oast House has been converted into a museum, gift shop and tea room after serving as a working oast house from 1867-1969. It stands on a hill overlooking what were once the extensive fields of hops. The museum in the Oast House has interesting displays which explain how the hops were processed. It also depicts the hop farming methods which were used throughout the Derwent Valley.
It is still possible for visitors to wander through the old Oast House, visit the historic asylum, walk along the banks of the river, or inspect the beautiful stained glass windows in Tasmania's oldest church, The Anglican Church of St Matthew and the Catholic Church (though undated) is very old and a classic. The United a simple white building.
Heritage information is quite well presented within the town.
New Norfolk has a lot to offer and an overnight is recommended.