Ross is encounted when traveling from Launceston to Hobart (or vice versa) on the historic Midlands Hgy. The great quality of Ross is that it has not been overly corrupted by modern tourism. The town is very typically English. In many ways Ross is a town which has been held in aspic. It is beautifully preserved.
The district was first explored by Europeans in 1807 when the surveyor Charles Grimes travelled from the north to the south of Tasmania's central valley area. He mapped sections of the river which subsequently became known as Macquarie River (Governor Macquarie named it after himself when he travelled through the area in 1811).
On his second journey through central Tasmania, Macquarie chose the location beside the river for a township. He called it Ross after the home of his friend H.M. Buchanan who lived on Loch Lomond in Scotland. At that time the river was forded. Later that year a wooden bridge was built and by 1836 the stone bridge, one of the finest in Australia, was completed.
Ross Bridge is quite rightly the pride of the village this beautiful stone bridge was constructed by convicts in 1836. It is the third oldest bridge still standing in Australia and is recognised as the most important convict-built bridge in the country. There is this one also in Ross
The main crossroad in Ross is known, with some humour, as Temptation, Recreation, Salvation and Damnation. The reason for this combination is that on one corner (Temptation) stood the Man-O-Ross Hotel, on another corner (Salvation) was the Roman Catholic Church, on the third corner was the Town Hall (Recreation) and on the fourth stood the Jail (Damnation).
Uniting Church - built in 1885. Note particularly the blackwood pews, the font with its carved cherubim, the beautiful stained glass windows and the modern tapestry which depicts the tree of life and was woven in Aubusson in France. The Anglican likewise a magnificent building.