Flinders is encounted when traveling
the Mornington Peninsula loop of towns and Bass Strait tourist sights.
Flinders is an
historic town that is at the point where Western Port meets Bass
The town was named by George Bass after his friend,
the explorer and British naval officer Captain Matthew Flinders.
Settlement commenced in 1854 and many pioneers and settlers are buried
at the Flinders cemetery. Flinders Post Office opened on 7 March 1863
as the population grew.
Flinders was the original home of Flinders Bread,
available throughout the region and beyond. The RAN operates a weapons
training facility and gunnery
on West Head. It is restricted to the public.
The town has a picturesque golf course golf
course built on a cliff top on Bass Street operated by the Flinders
Golf Club, a recreation reserve and a 250m long pier.
The Flinders War Memorial is located on that same
and is quite impressive.
The Flinders Hotel, though a bit of an old new
building mix is quite an imposing pub,
but serves as the Flinders photographic museum as well.
The Flinders Anglican Church
is clearly an historic building.The Cathoulic an historic mix.
The United has become a residence.
There is a lot to like and enjoy at Flinders. Be sure
to linger awhile.